Stay Organized Like A Queen

Hello Dolls, With Miss Florida USA 2015 around the corner, I find it only fair to dedicate this post to the lovely women who will be competing this week. What many people might not know is that you have to be extremely organized going into a pageant! No seriously! Think about it…. 5 days of non-stop cameras, press interviews, rehearsals, bonding events, judged interviews, and two days of on stage competition. For all of this you have to stay cool, calm, and collected. This really translates to everyday life whether you have a wedding weekend, road trips, family vacations, or a much needed girls weekend, here are some pageant girl secrets to help you stay organized and fabulous… I, personally, am the type of girl who likes packing 5 million options and picking out my outfit last minute. The problem with that is you find your self stressed out while trying to do your hair, make up, find your jewelry, accessories, and finally your clothes all as your running out the door with the curling iron still in your hair. Sounds familiar to anyone?

Tips On Staying Organized Like A Queen

Pack clothes that are easy to combine with one another. Stick within the same color palette and bring fun colored accessories to switch it up! Know your game plan.

  • Plan your outfits out in advance. I like taking pictures of the outfits and saving them in a separate album on my Iphone.
  • Have jewelry for each outfit in a ziplock bag so that once you unpack you can hang it on the hanger with your outfit. Another great tip is to put any double sided tape, chicken cutlets ( breast enhancing pads), or safety pins that you might need for the outfit in the same ziplock bag as your jewelry.
  • Below is what my suitcase would look like for a weekend with the girls. All the outfits are inter changeable and you can go from brunch to an elegant restaurant with these pieces.(Photos from polyvore.com)
Weekend with the girls
Pack light. Bring the essentials.
Too many things will overwhelm you,  bring the absolute must haves. No, you don’t need a 10th top for you 2 day weekend to the lake house and there is no reason to pack 4 different concealers in your make up case.
Keep it sweet and simple so that you don’t go crazy looking for the things you’ll actually need. One straightening or curling iron, a hair blower,mini hairspray, a comb, and a big round brush is the most you’ll see me pack as far as hair products are concerned.
De-Clutter your purse before you leave.
Why? I cannot tell you how many times I have attempted to whip out my boarding pass and handed  it to TSA and instead embarrassingly pulled out a long Sephora receipt for the make up haul from the week prior.
Buy little bags to put in your purse and separate your necessities so that they are easier to find. This also goes for your beach bag, clutch purse, or tote bag. Make sure it’s de-cluttered for a stress free experience. Here are some I love from my one of favorite brands: Kate Spade! (Photos from Katespade.com)
stayorganized.jpg
Food Tip:
For someone who loves food but is gluten and lactose intolerant, it is so important that I have food to eat where ever I go. So I pre-pack my meals.
My good friend and pageant contestant gave me a wonderful tip. She brought her Nutribullet to the pageant and put the ingredients to her smoothies each day in little ziplock bags. Need milk or yogurt? No problem! They sell them in packs of 10 in Costco or BJ’s making it easier for you to make your smoothies on the go.
Pack a small cooler bag with tupperware containing for favorite snacks. Your tummy and wallets can thank me later.
Lists for your lists.
No really, make a list of every thing you need and make sure you’ve got it packed. My mom taught me this one after she had to drive me back to the house because I forgot my sash and crown on my bed … she wasn’t a happier camper.
There is a great new app that I am so obsessed with called Trello that can help keep you organized for anything! You can add attachments, set reminders, and categories. It’s a must have for anyone who wants to stay organized with little to no effort.(Photo from Trello.com)
Screen shot 2014-07-09 at 5.53.52 PM
Plan ahead of time.
Don’t leave it all for last minute. That just causes more stress and is the number one reason why you leave things behind.
Hope my tips can help you stay organized and fabulous for you next big event! Share some of your favorite organization tips with me!
xoxoalyssa.jpg

Leave a comment